Broadcast Message from Client System

Hello all,

I’m new to Openfire, and I just got it running and setup with several Spark clients as a test. The reason I started looking at Openfire and Spark was because I saw that aside from being very practical as an Internal-Only IM system, it also has Broadcast capabilities.

One thing that I need, however, is a simplified way of sending broadcast messages. What I was envisioning was something like a Perl script that could send a broadcast message on behalf of the user (username, password, and message could be hard-coded). I found several different threads on this site (http://www.igniterealtime.org/community/message/133091 and http://www.igniterealtime.org/community/docs/DOC-1121), however I can’t seem to get either to work. After adjusting the required variables, I simply get a Cookie error, and it shows the expiry date as being 01-01-1970.

The main reason for this is to have a combination of IM/Panic alert (user can chat normally, but if they very quickly need to get the attention of everyone on the system, they can double-click an icon on their desktop and the message is sent, so that they don’t have to take the time to type it out).

Are there any current solutions that can do what I need? It should be noted that I’m not a programmer, and only have very basic knowledge of Perl, and really none of Java.

Thanks in advance,

Jon Laslow.

Hi Jon,

I did wrote this script some time ago, it should still work. Anyhow only for the Openfire administrator “admin” in a default installation. Normal users can not use it for broadcasts.

A client-side emergency button may be hard to find. One could create an Openfire plugin similar to the registration plugin, so users open a web page which allows to send such a message. While I still wonder if this really makes sense.

Did you try the Broadcast plugin? There users can subscribe and send messages to random-group-name@your-server.

LG

Hi LG,