Change openfire functionality / Re-code some modules

Hello everyone,

I am using openfire for my special purpose chating system, I am using flex as my chat client.

In my scenario, suppose

Person a1, a2, a3 belong to company a

Person b1,b2,b3 belong to company b

Now a2,a3 and b2,b3 is connected to openfire using spark client.

I dont want to allow a2 to add friend who dont belong to company a. and same for b.

And when a1 gets online, from my flex chat application, He/she will have a chat window open default.

And That chat should be connected to user a2,a3 (person from same companies)

And same for company b.

In Short, I want to modify functionalities of openfire to work in my scenario.

Please guide/help me to start with this.

I am very new to openfire. But I have good work experience in Java.

Thanks in advance.

New Chat Room:

http://community.igniterealtime.org/message/173811#173811

Openfire does not support virtual domain o multiple domain in one instance.

So in order to allow (SECURE) communication between the same company you must create to Openfire instances: a) different physical servers, b) virtual machines, c) installing two instances in the same server using tar.gz (zip), 2 x IP&DNS addresses or change ports (not easy to handle on clients).

But if your are not worried about (SECURE) and it just want a GUI “mask”, you can do this:

All users from companies must be in the same user database: a1… a100, b1 … b100. It means the same domain and therefore the same instance, they can see it each other but only after adding buddies manually.

Then create two groups: A with all a* and B with all b*.

When you start a client (i.e. Pidgin) the users on group A see at first only other members of A and the same for B members, unless you ‘share’ the group with each other in the shared group configuration tab or the user manually add the user from the other company.

Hey Guy,

Thanks for your response.