Complete newbie- few questions - please help

Dear forum members,

I am a completely newbie and became aware of jive messenger few days back only.

Actually I was looking for a private instant messaging system for our website and after reading so many posts here in the forum , I finally see a ray of hope.

As far as i have understood, Jive messenger is server side application and we can use either smack to build our own client application or otherwise use mirinda or gaim or gabber client application.

Now in light of these please clarify the following:

1. What are the exact server requirements to have jive messenger installed. This is because our current website is on a shared hosting plan and dedicated hosting or server is simply not feasible. SO is it possible to have jive messenger on shared hosting and what other server requirements are there?

2. Having installed say jive messenger on server and downloaded any client say gabber or mirinda, what else is exactly required so that instant messaging communication can actually take place.

3. Further when we have two persons talking by way of instant messaging, is it peer to peer meaning C2C or is it C2S2C. and how many clients simultaneously can it support.

4. what else exactly do i need to know presuming that my programming and technical knowledge is extremely limited but ready to learn anything if necessary to implement this excellent private instant messaging system for our website.

5. Also any reference to step by step instructions would be great.

I know for sure that as a novice I must have asked some stupid questions above but then I also sincerely believe that people in this forum are extremely halpful and guidance is very well here.

I am looking forward to all and any comments, suggestions, ideas, feedback, tips and whatever in as much detail as possible so that implementation is actually a fesibility.

Thank you very much in advance for your vlauble time and consideration,

With utmost regards,