Connecting To Openfire Server

Hi,

I am new to setting up this sort of thing, so excuse me if im asking stupid questions. I have setup an openfire Server, and it is running an internal database with all of the default settings. I have set the server name to jabber.mydomain.com, and i have this subdomain pointed to my external IP address by my hosting provider. I have also forwarded port 5222 from my router to port 5222 of the internal ip address that openfire is running on. The name of the computer, the host name is “server”. The problem that i am having is that if i try to connect from another computer in my lan using jabber.mydomain.com i get an error and cannot connect, however if i use server as the jabber server name then i can register an account, however it still will not let me log in, i get a username/password error. Could someone please tell me whether i have this configuration correct and if there is anything else i need to do in order to get this to work both internally and externally as i would like to have clients both inside my lan and coming in from the internet. I have done my best to explain everything i have setup, Thankyou

What:

• OS is the openfire server
  • DNS entry did you make for the server
  • Client are you using

Ideally the openfire server should be named with the same Fully Qualified Domain Name as the server you are installing it on.

Sorry, The operating system is Windows XP home SP3, i have not made any DNS entry, i have my site and DNS controlled remotely, and i have asked the provider to add a subdomain which is pointed to my networks external ip, ie when i use nslookup and type in jabber.mydomain.com it responds with my external ip address. i have tried multiple clients, mostly however i am trying to use jabbim