Conversation history

I am considering the best way to store recent conversation history for all conversations on our Wildfire server. When a user logs in I would like to send them the recent conversation history (previous 10 messages) using a custom xml block. Most clients can just ignore it.

I have some experience developing Wildfire Plugins. I guess the functionality would be similar to the chat rooms. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Daniel

Message was edited by: StaticVortex

Daniel,

Sounds like it should be pretty straightforward. Another option is to use Spark as a client, which stores recent conversation history locally instead of on the server.

One thing I’‘m not clear on – do you plan to just send the last 10 messages no matter who the user was talking with? This could be a bit confusing. For example, if I’‘m chatting with three different users before I shut down my connection, the next time I log in, I’‘d see messages from all three conversations intermixed? Usually, I’'m most interested in recent history when I click to chat with someone in particular. Can you describe your use case further?

Regards,

Matt

Hey thanks for your quick reply.

The functionality is to be used for a web based client, so storing the messages locally isn’'t practical.

The service would only return the last 10 messages of the conversation between the two users in conversation. Our web client can make an xml request to the wildfire server with the username’'s of the two users, and then the Wildfire plugin should send back the results. This could be a component or an extension to the normal interface.

Thanks

Ahh, gotcha. That makes much more sense. I think building this out would be fairly straightforward. One thing you’‘d want to do is store conversations by bare JID. That way, it wouldn’'t matter what resource a user is using at any one time: “/Home”, “/Work”, etc.