powered by Jive Software

Default.properties settings not being applied

I tested this with version 2.6.0_rc1 awhile back with setting the hostname and a handful of other options which worked well at the time. Now that I’ve bumped the client up to 2.6.3 the settings just don’t want to apply I thought it had something to do with an out-of place setting that I’m not aware of.

Any help would be great. Thanks!

Here’s the contents of my default.properties file:

#################################################

################# Login Window #################

#################################################

The Login image

suggested image dimensions 244 x 188 pixels

MAIN_IMAGE = images/spark.gif

APPLICATION_NAME = Spark

SHORT_NAME = Spark

LOGIN_DIALOG_BACKGROUND_IMAGE = images/login_dialog_background.png

TOP_BOTTOM_BACKGROUND_IMAGE = images/top_bottom_background_image.png

SECONDARY_BACKGROUND_IMAGE = images/steel.png

Specify a fixed Hostname

Changing the Hostname will also be prohibited if set

HOST_NAME = hostname

Set true if you dont want user to change the server

HOST_NAME_CHANGE_DISABLED = true

Proxy Settings

Protocols are HTTP or SOCKS , case sensitive!!!

PROXY_PROTOCOL =

PROXY_HOST =

PROXY_PORT =

Remove account creation Button from Loginwindow

Users wont be able to register new Accounts from within Spark

ACCOUNT_DISABLED = true

Remove Advanced Configuration Button from Loginwindow

Users wont be able to access the advanced configuration

ADVANCED_DISABLED = true

#If Advanded preferences is enabled you are able to remove tabs, except the “General” tab

#Removes SSO Tab

SSO_DISABLED = true

#Removes PKI Tab

PKI_DISABLED = true

#Removes Proxy Tab

PROXY_DISABLED = true

Show Password Reset Button on LoginDialog.

!!! This will repleace the “register new user” button, please set ACCOUNT_DISABLED = true !!!

PASSWORD_RESET_ENABLED = false

URL to your password reset html

PASSWORD_RESET_URL =

Branding only

Branded images appear in the Top-Right corner, and must be included in the classpath

place them in src/resource/images and path will be “images/file.jpg”

BRANDED_IMAGE = images/my-corporation-logo.png

BRANDED_IMAGE =

Shows a powered by logo below the Main Image of Spark

SHOW_POWERED_BY =

Disables updateability, you should set this, if you have a custom Spark-build

or are in an environment where installfiles are distributed via network

DISABLE_UPDATES = false

If true, Spark cannot shut down

users wont be able to shut down Spark

DISABLE_EXIT =

#################################################

################## File Transfer ################

#################################################

Specify a size on which Users will get a

warning of a possibly too big file

10MB = 10485760

100MB = 104857600

1GB = 1073741824

default = -1 (infinity)

maximum is 9223372036854775806 byte = 8388608TB

FILE_TRANSFER_WARNING_SIZE = -1

Specify the Maximum file size to be permitted to send

10MB = 10485760

100MB = 104857600

1GB = 1073741824

default = -1 (infinity)

maximum is 9223372036854775806 byte = 8.388.608 TB

FILE_TRANSFER_MAXIMUM_SIZE = -1

#################################################

################## Main Window ##################

#################################################

[Not yet implemented:]

Changing this wont have any effect

Roster Management

#HOVER_TEXT_COLOR =

#TEXT_COLOR =

#CONTACT_GROUP_START_COLOR =

#CONTACT_GROUP_END_COLOR =

#TAB_START_COLOR =

#TAB_END_COLOR =

[/NYI]

#################################################

################ Settings Window ################

#################################################

Disables adding of contacts

The User wont be able to add contacts,

usefull for shared roster management

ADD_CONTACT_DISABLED =

Disables adding contact groups

The User wont be able to add contact groups,

usefull for shared roster management

ADD_CONTACT_GROUP_DISABLED =

Change Password Disabled

Users wont be able to change their password

CHANGE_PASSWORD_DISABLED = true

I solved it just after posting. Isn’t that the way it always works out?

I made a backup copy called “spark - Copy.jar” which apparently took precendence over the spark.jar that I had edited. Once removing the copied file it worked. Actually as long as my backup copy showed up first in an alphabetical listing, it would be the one launched, not my edited copy. Even bad-spark.jar launched before the altered file.

That sounds like a potential bug, especially if you are trying to be careful by backing up settings. From now on I’ll backup to a different directory.

the launcher probably just looks for all *.jar or spark.jar in the directory, and therefore your alphebetically first ones get loaded first…

in any case, the program directory likely isn’t the proper place to store backups… should not be inside the Spark folder or user profile folder since these could possibly be altered or removed automagically by Spark (update, reinstall, uninstall, etc).

Message was edited by: Jason