I have been trying to find an answer to this question for a few days now. Perhaps I am not using the right keyword in my searches, so please forgive me if this has been answered already.
We recently made some changes to our shared group settings and took the ability to see certain groups away from members of other groups. Afterwards, many of our users started to get a server generated “Contacts” group showing up in their client rosters. Within this group are users that the person should no longer be able to see, but for some reason still can.
If I go on the server, and click Users/Groups > User Summary > random jid > roster I see every contact for that particular person. If I filter the roster by “No Shared Groups” I see the list of users being presented in the “Contacts” group on the client. For the purposes of the current user’s roster, they have no group association and no subscription with that user. Some of them are also employees that no longer work at the company. I can manually delete the users from the roster, but I would really like to be able to prevent the server from doing it in the first place.
Is there anything I can do on the server aside from going down each user’s roster and removing entries one by one?
FYI - Server: Openfire 3.4.4 Client: Pandion 2.5
Thanks in advance.