Having issues connecting external clients and chatting via web

Hello you guys… I’m pretty new to open fire. I got it installed on a vps last night however when using a test account I created I cannot log on to test to see if the chat function works. We are going to be using this to chat in groups for my co workers, I’m also hoping this archives so they can come back if they miss something from other people in this project.

Anyway I got it installed pretty much left everything at the default except the host name which i changed then redirected hosstname.domain.com to that. Thats’ about as far as I got. We can’t get our co workers or my test account to connect, and when I visit host.domain.com:port (which in this case is 5222) I get a page cannot be displayed in my browser. I’m using according to the file I have openfire_4.1.6

In this case my co worker’s android client can connect, but me using the web cannot. I cannot find a client that takes custom jabber clients that is accessible with voiceover. I am visually impaired and need accessibility in mind.

I don’t know what else to try here. I’m on a digital ocean vps using the latest ubuntu released some time this year. It took me about 3 hours to get to this point last night so I decided to give it a brake.

I should add I did not install any other plugins, so this comes with the default set.

Thanks so much

Openfire is not working as web chat out of box, unless you install some web client, like Candy or Converse.js

Thanks. And how about iOs. Can someone access the chat via web using safari? Or do I just need a plugin to manage that. Also I need to test this on mac as well to see if it works and the two programs I use don’t work with voiceover, the screen reader for mac os.