How to fix the messages out of order issue with info from OF-115 (aka JM-835)?

Hi - newbie here

I have found http://www.igniterealtime.org/issues/browse/OF-115 and it sounds like my issue (altho using s2s) but I don’t know how to use the “workaround” listed.

FTFA:

“…clients should be assigned to one and only one connection on the CM so that we are sure to maintain ordering.”

“So one should make sure that “each client has a dedicated thread server side for processing incoming stanzas” no matter if connected directly where this is already the case or if it is connected via a CM.”

Does this mean modifying something on the server and if so, what? Or is this referring to a mod to the client app?

TIA for any help.

Hi Shiny,

this is still an open issue, so it’s not solved and there is nothing you can do (unless you have some java experience and want to fix this issue with a self-written patch).

LG

Hi LG

Thanks for such a quick reply! Altho it’s a bit disappointing as I went to the Issue Tracker and saw that OF-115 is listed as a minor issue because it has “minor function impact or” “an easy workaround”. It’s becoming an issue that is affecting user confidence. They are afraid that messages are going missing not just coming in out of order.

I personally have no java experience but my colleagues do. Do you have any idea how to code the fix? As in what the problem might be?

Again TIA for any guidance on this.

Just to be sure I understand, ClientA joins a room hosted on the remote ServerB and the room history is downloaded to ClientA. But it doesn’t go directly to ClientA, ServerA receives the msgs from ServerB and then passes them along to ClientA. So the msgs leave ServerB in order but there is nothing on ServerA to retain/respect the order from ServerB when ServerA passes the msgs to ClientA.