Installation help

Hello all. I am very excited about having this service on my website. I am a complete noob when it comes to this stuff, though, so I need some very clearly explained help with an installation problem I’'ve run into.

I am on the Database Settings page of the installation (page 3, I believe) and have received the following error:

A connection to the database could not be made. View the error message by opening the “\logs\error.log” log file, then go back to fix the problem.

I viewed the error and it was an incredibly lengthy and incomprehensible mess that says, in part:

2005.12.16 22:48:48 [org.jivesoftware.database.ConnectionPool.(ConnectionPool.java:108)

] Failed to create new connections on startup. Attempt 0 of 3

com.mysql.jdbc.CommunicationsException: Communications link failure due to underlying exception:

• BEGIN NESTED EXCEPTION **

java.net.UnknownHostException

STACKTRACE:

java.net.UnknownHostException:

at java.net.InetAddress.getAllByName(Unknown Source)

at com.mysql.jdbc.StandardSocketFactory.connect(StandardSocketFactory.java:137)

…and it goes on, and on, and on. I am eager to have this service implemented, but need some help doing so. Please respond.

Hi William,

which database do you want to use? A mysql installation or the embedded database? Using the embedded database is painless and usually the best joice for the first installation.

LG

I was planning on the embedded database for that very reason. Should I do something different when I install, in order to accomplish that? I’'m fine with uninstalling and reinstalling if so.

Thanks for the help!

william,

The issue is that you didn’‘t enter in a real host name for the JDBC URL. You’'re supposed to enter in the name of the server to connect to and the database. Or, the embedded database is an easy option instead.

Regards,

Matt