Introduccion to Openfire

Hello, I’m new in Openfire. I just was looking around and I was able to install Openfire with a standard setup in a Linux 3.16.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.16.7-ckt20-1+deb8u3 (2016-01-17) x86_64 GNU/Linux It was not so easy to find documents about what is Openfire, How is build, what layer “X” is on top of layer “Y”. and how to,after install use it, witch clients can login onto the system, How, and the most important… what can they do with or with out any plugin. Maybe for some of you, RTC / XMPP are common words, but for the beginer maybe are strange words. Also plugins need more documentation… or if they are there, a easy place to pick up them for the common user. I think that centralicing, indexing and grouping the docs can make people feel more confortable with the proyect. Please, if there is a link with the documentation point me to it. Thank you for your time. :slight_smile:

You are probably referring to Openfire’s project page. RTC in that paragraph abbreviates real time collaboration, which goes before the abbreviation. XMPP just adds the name of technology to the “instant messaging”. If real time collaboration and instant messaging is still confusing, then nothing can be done about that. This is a technology, so it is not for everyone to grasp. One has to have a specific mind set before going into such thing. I haven’t heard about XMPP and only heard a few things about Jabber before going into this and it wasn’t confusing to me. So, what is Openfire? It is an instant messaging platform. That’s it. You can read on Wikipedia Openfire - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia . But it won’t tell much more. This is enough for those who are interested in this technology and work in IT.