Jive and LDAP integration

I am new to Jive spark and wildfire. I was able to successfully load the server and the client but now I would like to go one step further and eventually offer this service company-wide.

I understand that one of the capability of wildfire is to integrate with Active Directory and authenticate users off of that database but I still don’'t understand if it is possible to also obtain the entire list of users off AD.

Basically I would like our users to be presented with the entire list of users currently on AD and show them either online or offline.

If this is possible I would like to know how to do it.

Another area that I would need some help on is LDAP integration. I have never used LDAP on a MS AD and I would really appreciate any help.

Is LDAP active on the domain controller by default? should I start some kind of service? Where do I edit all the settings for LDAP?

I currently use Radius off of AD for VPN authentication and everything works just fine but I have the feeling LDAP is much harder to setup.

Any help or link is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Well, you’'re in luck because AD is basically a glorified LDAP server.

I’‘m using LDAP and Wildfire here at my organization, and it’'s working well. There is nothing to setup in AD other than a service account user for the Wildfire server. You can see a short explanation of my setup here:

http://www.jivesoftware.org/community/message.jspa?messageID=120078

You can see a long explanation here:

http://www.jivesoftware.org/community/thread.jspa?messageID=100951

Be warned that the log post is old and only works with older version of Jive Messenger, which is what Wildfire used to be called. Most of that post is good, just don’'t copy the class names, they are all wrong. If you have any more specific questions, let us know.

Thanks. very good information and I think I am starting to understand how all this works.

I still have a question about all the parameters like: