Jive Messenger Server Not Accepting Connections or Creating Users

Hello,

First off let me say I am very new to Jabber. I am testing Jive Messenger and Jabberd for our developers. I hope someone can help me. This is neat stuff.

I installed Jive Messenger Windows 2000 Server. I used the embedded (HSQLDB) database.

I cannot get GAIM or Exodus to connect to the server. Not the server itself (using localhost or 127.0.0.1 or the host name or the FQDN). or a remote PC. I get disconnected immediately The error logs do not contain information (or I am just not seeing it) about my attempt to auto create and account or attempt to sign in.

I have read I need to enable in-band registration but I cannot find out where to do it. I read I need to do it in the Admin tool but I do not see anything beyond the server settings, DB information, Admin Password and the system checks (all pass).

I ve looked at the configuration file thoroughly (jive-messenger.xml) and cannot find it.

One log (info) says the Jive Messenger license file cannot be found.

Messenger starts, runs and I can launch the Admin tool.

Would appreciate any assistance provided.

Thanks

Kindest Regards,

David

Hi Guys,

I don’'t have any inside information but I think if you can hold on for just a little while longer until Messenger v2 is released a lot of these issue will be resolved, or can be resolved very quickly once people have access to the code. I know a lot of people (myself included) are anxious to get Messenger up and running but I know the wait will be worth it.

Cheers,

Ryan

David,

I cannot get GAIM or Exodus to connect to the server.

Not the server itself (using localhost or 127.0.0.1

or the host name or the FQDN). or a remote PC. I get

disconnected immediately The error logs do not

contain information (or I am just not seeing it)

about my attempt to auto create and account or

attempt to sign in.

I have read I need to enable in-band registration but