Keeping open fire running

Hi, I have installed the latest version of open fire on my server (centos 5.9). I have a couple of what I hope are simple issues.

1: when I access http://server:9090, I complete the setup but it is in a loop. I think I read that is means a certain file isn’t write able in the server. Can someone please point me in the right direction as to which file, and what command to type in to change these permissions?

2: I have openfire running via /etc/init.d/openfire start. I am able to access the setup via http://server:9090, however no clients can connect to the server. The only way I can get it to work is if I do the command like this:

Cd /opt/openfire/bin

./openfire.sh

After running this command, clients can connect via the usernames and passwords I created just fine. But as soon as I close the SSH connection, they shut down.

I can verify that openfire IS running as a service, but clients can’t connect.

I appreciate any help in advance. I’m just learning this system, as well as having never used Linux before.

How did you install Openfire? RPMs, or something else? What version do you have installed? You need pretty much everything in /opt/openfire to be installed by the user it runs as (usually openfire, or jive).

When you start it with the init.d script, what error do clients get when they try to connect? Is there anything logged in the error.log or info.log files that might shed some light on what it is doing? Can you compare the process command line arguments when you run it via openfire.sh versus the init.d script?

Either way, if your setup is messed up it probably won’t work right anyway. Are you using external db, or embedded?

Thanks David,

I installed Openfire via RPM (version 3.8.0). The error message when trying to log into Spark is “Can’t connect to server: Invalid Name or server not reachable”. (However this goes away when I run /opt/openfire/bin ./openfire.sh)