MamManager incorrectly claims MAM not supported

Hello.

I am trying to write an XMPP client using Smack, and am hosting my own XMPP server (Prosody), which has MAM enabled. Using other clients MAM works fine, and message histories are restored. However, when trying to implement this code myself, I have run into the issue that MamManager.isSupported() returns false.

I have searched for this issue but haven’t found much about it :frowning: I have probably made some stupid mistake. I am confident the issue is client-side as MAM works with other clients.

Here is the code, which I call after having authenticated with the server:

MamManager manager = MamManager.getInstanceFor(connectionToServer);
manager.isSupported(); //false :(

If I try to use the MamManager anyway, I get XMPPError: service-unavailable - cancel.

Smack version: 4.3.4

Sorry for my poor understanding, I am fairly new to networking in general.
Any help or advice would be much appreciated.
Many thanks, John

Could you check, which features your server announces?
A stanza trace would be helpful to debug the issue.

That is probably caused by different MAM versions between client (Smack) and server.

That was my first guess as well, but the prosody mod_mam supports all MAM versions, so I ruled that one out (given that OP is running this mod_mam).

Hello, thank you for your replies, and sorry for this late response. I have attempted to get a stanza trace. Here is an excerpt; I seem to be declaring a mam feature, though possibly it is the wrong version. I’ve cut things that I think are irrelevant, hope I haven’t missed anything important.
It’s feasible that I’ve done something stupid in setting up the server, which would explain why seemingly nobody else has had this issue.

<query xmlns='http://jabber.org/protocol/disco#info'>
<identity category='account' type='registered'/>
<identity category='pubsub' type='pep'/>

<feature var='urn:ietf:params:xml:ns:vcard-4.0'/>