My Jive Messenger(How can I integrate Jive Messenger with Linux accounts?)

Hi all

I have been assigned to set up a messenger service for internal use with around 500 user base. This is my first assignments to set up a server. I have been mostly on help desk before and I am more familiar with the client side only. I am also new to the IT environment also.

I am glad that I have chosen Jive Messenger. It is very easy to set up and configure. I will reserve “very easy to maintain” for later. I have chosen Jive messenger because it is the most feature rich among the GPL license holder. I also find that the community and developer are very active and they are willing to help even newbies like me.

Here is what I have done.

I have successfully set up the jive messenger on my windows xp box for testing purpose.

I have struggled with mysql for 8 hours as I don’'t know any DB and have used the windows set up!!!

I have tried different clients from windows box and linux box also.

After evaluating all the clients (gaim, gabber, gush, psi, exodus)

I find that exodus is the most suitable for my need. Unfortunately I can’'t find the equivalent of exodus for linux. gaim does not support full jabber protocol, I think, as I find it become irresponsive after other client (exodus) issue an admin command. gabber and psi are doing fine how ever they lack the administrative tool (Kick, ban, make moderator, make Admin)

Then we have Gush. Gush has the most beautiful Interface among them and it also support all the feature, and it can run on linux and windows also. However the problem with Gush is that it is a flash application and tax a lot of CPU and memory resources. It is also a bit slow to respond. I have not finished complete installation of gush on linux (missing fonts) and can’'t test it very well. Linux version is also behind that of windows.

I do not see function for MUC room creation in any of the clients.