Need help on how to set up spark to be able to run in IDE (NetBeans/Eclipse)!

Hi all,

I’m very new to spark and also quite new to java.

I would like to know how to setup the environment for to be able to run Spark in IDE

I have read the instructions in the development guide but it’s not clear to me.

Developer documentation isn’t helpful enough for a newbie to start up

To setup a project to run Spark within your IDE, you will need to the following:

• It is required that you use the 1.4 JRE to build Spark.

• Add all *.jar files in the Sparkplugs/spark/lib and Sparkplugs/spark/lib/windows directories to your classpath.

• Add the resource directory (Sparkplugins/spark/resource) to your classpath for the native libraries.

• Main Class - org.jivesoftware.Spark

• VM Parameters - -Dplugin=path_to_your_plugin.xml file. This allows you to run your plugins within your IDE without deploying.

• That’s it.

Do I need to create my own project in NetBeans/Eclipse?

Then how?

I’ve downloaded sparkplug_kit_2_0_7.zip.

Do I also need to install spark_2_5_8.exe in my machine?

Tried to search in the forum also but didn’t see any helpful topic.

May be I missed out

Can anybody help me to provide the steps that needs to do to run spark in IDE?

Kindly provide me the detail steps if possible.

Thanks a lot.

-Julia

I have the same question.

I cannot manage my net beans to be able to build example plugins.

Anyone have a suggestion ?

Hi,

Are these the docs you’re talking about in setting up your development environment?

http://www.igniterealtime.org/community/docs/DOC-1521

http://www.igniterealtime.org/community/docs/DOC-1020