New to openfire.. uh oh, errors & logfiles!

Hi All,

Im new to openfire and trying to get a simple server up for me and my friends to use. The box is running Win2K pro, openfire 3.3.2 w/ the internal database and just grabbed the newest JRE. After installation and adding a user via the admin console, I tried logging in with pandeon from a different machine and got a ‘bad password/no user’ type of error. On the adminstration console I observed that a connection was at least attempted by viewing the ‘database query statistics’ area. SELECT Query Statistics went from zero to 1 with the following query: SELECT password, encryptedPassword FROM jiveUser WHERE username=?

Checking the logs i then found the following errors:

2007.08.20 19:23:41 [org.jivesoftware.database.EmbeddedConnectionProvider.getConnection(EmbeddedCon nectionProvider.java:46)

] Error: EmbeddedConnectionProvider.getConnection() wascalled before the internal pool has been initialized.

2007.08.20 19:23:41 [org.jivesoftware.database.DbConnectionManager.getConnection(DbConnectionManage r.java:95)

] WARNING: ConnectionManager.getConnection() failed to obtain a connection.

2007.08.20 19:23:41 [org.jivesoftware.openfire.XMPPServer.verifyDataSource(XMPPServer.java:670)

] Database could not be accessed

java.lang.NullPointerException

at org.jivesoftware.openfire.XMPPServer.verifyDataSource(XMPPServer.java:660)

at org.jivesoftware.openfire.XMPPServer.start(XMPPServer.java:391)

at org.jivesoftware.openfire.XMPPServer.(XMPPServer.java:148)

followed by many lines of more junk

and this further down:

2007.08.20 19:23:41 [org.jivesoftware.openfire.XMPPServer.start(XMPPServer.java:421)

]

java.lang.IllegalArgumentException: java.lang.NullPointerException

at org.jivesoftware.openfire.XMPPServer.verifyDataSource(XMPPServer.java:671)

Any thoughts about what to try?

thanks a bunch!!

UPDATE: the above errors are preceded by this one: