One 2 one chat, public roster, xtensibility (LONG)

Hello all. I am VERY new to XIFF/XMPP, so please forgive my newbie-ness.

Here is the (very simple) project I am working on:

A public roster - all users online are automatically viewable

only one to one chat available.

users automatically logged in based on variables passed from PHP script.

Authentication is already taken care of before they get the option to chat. All that is necessary is the username.

The client does NOT need to be compatable with other XMPP clients outside of the system.

This is how I have solved it so far:

I have created 1000 test user accounts on the Jive Messenger server.

The flash-chat application is based closely on the ‘‘xmpp example’’ included in the XIFF 2 Beta package.

I have created a room on the server that all users are logged into automatically.

instead of groupMessage

sendMessage function modified like so:
function sendMessage(messageBody) {
     //chatRoom.sendMessage(messageBody);
     chatRoom.sendPrivateMessage(recipientNickname, messageBody);
     addToChatOutput(nick, messageBody);
}

to allow ONLY one to one chatting.

I have deleted the chatRoster and instead placed dynamic rosterButtons in the same place.

Here is my dynamic buttons function:

function rosterbuttons() {
     if (_level0.chatRoom.rosterItems[0].nickname.length>1) {
          for (rosteri=0; _level0.chatRoom.rosterItems[rosteri].nickname; rosteri++) {
               // this is code for the placement label and action of the first button
               this["rosterButton"+rosteri].removeMovieClip();
               // I remove +1 +2 and +3 just in case 2 or 3 people left the room at the same time.
               this["rosterButton"+(rosteri+1)].removeMovieClip();
               this["rosterButton"+(rosteri+2)].removeMovieClip();
               this["rosterButton"+(rosteri+3)].removeMovieClip();
               this.attachMovie("Button", "rosterButton"+rosteri, curDepth++);