Openfire really free? supported users and other simple questions

I have a few simple questions that I can’t seem to find anwsers too quickly so forgiveme if they are posted elsewhere.

Is openfire really free no strings attached? Is there a limit to the number of concurrent users? I saw something in the connection manager about 25 max. Can someone tell me what that pertains too?

If the user turns off logging in spark does it still log to the server as long as it is enabled in the admin console?

I have ldap working with AD but I have multiple domains that are trusted, not part of the same forest. Is it possible to create ldap entries to grab info from multiple domains at the same time?

Does someone know good hardware specs for about 500 users and using the builtin database?

A comment: This is an awesome app. I have paid good money for IM apps that are not nearly as good. I am totally new to this product but had it up and running in less than 30 minutes. Great work!

The multple domains across multiple forests will be an issue. There are two solutions i know of, one i use.

1. Use microsoft ADAM to sync you DC’s into one large virtual domain. Theres plent of documantion on this but as far as I know its not a supported product by MS so you’ll be at the mercy of google, technet, and maybe consultants. I know its a common fix for mutlidomain Sharepoint sites, as thats how i first found out about it.

2. Use Penrose Server to create an LDAP proxy and publish a virtual directory.