Packet Reader Class

In Packet Reader the static fields of XmlPullParser should be accessed in a static way.

Instead of

“eventType == parser.END_TAG”

should be

eventType == XmlPullParser.END_TAG

Actually, I just follow the standard code format that the XMLPull documentation recommends. More info at:

http://www.xmlpull.org/v1/download/unpacked/doc/quick_intro.html

Regards,

Matt

The program I use to program, Eclipse (very,very good by IBM), as give me this warning about the way it access the fields.

By the way, I think its in the java code standarts that the correct way to access a static field is this way.

We use IntelliJ at Jive Software, which I’‘d also argue is a really good application, and no warnings from it. However, I’'ll consider changing the syntax when I get a chance. Thanks for your input!

Regards,

Matt

These “static fields…static way” errors appear in Eclipse 2.1 but not in 2.0.2 so being a Java newbie I did some checking…

Apparently accessing static fields/methods via the class name instead of the class object is the “preferred” method as it’'s more clear to someone looking at the code that the field/method is static but does not affect the actual code operation at all.

Matt: Eclipse roolz!

You are right. It not affect the code, but it’'s more “correct” via the class name. Turns the code more easy to read.

Hi Matt,

you mention you are using IntelliJ. I’'ve been tossing up whether to use WSAD5 or Idea 3.0 of late and wonder whether you can give me some information.

One thing I note is that the arrangement of the source folders/resources etc needs to change significantly to be used within WSAD. Is the existing layout in the source zip as you use it from Idea?

What are you normally using to deploy to and debug? I only really had the latest version of Tomcat around and the Idea integration hasn’'t caught up with 4.1 yet…

Any info regarding debug settings from within Idea would be wonderful…

Thanks,

Greg

Greg,