Performance on windows?

I have seen ePoll mentioned several times as one thing that linux has that you don’'t get on windows. Does this offer some type of performance enhancement? Is it necessary? Is it worth it? What is it?

Thanks

I am by no means an expert here but I’'ll take a stab at this one. Basically, ePoll is used to create threads for each client request. It is extremely scalable for applications that need 20,000+ clients. However, Windows uses a different method of handling multiple client requests that is not as scalable.

Here are the main three options (there are others though):

1. Serve many clients with each thread, and use nonblocking I/O and level-triggered readiness notification
  • traditional poll, kqueue, traditional select
  1. Serve many clients with each thread, and use nonblocking I/O and readiness change notification
  • epoll, kqueue
  1. Serve many clients with each thread, and use asynchronous I/O and completion notification
  • Windows

For reasons beyond my technical understanding, the level of precedence seems to be epoll, kqueue, poll, and select. In Windows, python will be forced to use select because the other three are non-existent in Windows. When used in Windows, the python file (v23): PyMSNt.py states:

Unable to install any good reactors (kqueue, epoll, poll).

We fell back to using select. You may have scalability problems.

This reactor will not support more than 1024 connections +at a time.

Unknown reactor: select . Using select(), reactor.

I am assuming that is because the select method is not scalable. So, from my perspective, here is what I would say.

1. Does this offer some type of performance enhancement?
  • Yes, especially if you have a large userbase and especially since applications like jabber make many concurrent connections to the server.
  1. Is it necessary?
  • Depends on the environment.
  1. Is it worth it?