Plugin - Dev Environment on Linux

Hello,

My goal is to set up a dev environment for developing and testing OpenFire plugins. I am new to java but I am an experienced developer so I’'m hoping I can get up and running fairly quickly. My questions are related to setting up a working dev environment.

I am running Fedora 6 and I have jdk 1.5 installed

• In order to develop plugins, do I need to build and install the OpenFire sources or can I use the binaries?

• What is the best environment for developing these plugins on Linux? I understand I need Ant. I tried to install Ant but I stopped after it asked me for a whole bunch of packages and libraries (both java and X-windows related), which makes me think my java installation is incomplete (java sdk needed?)

• Which debugger is available - Eclipse? Would I need to run it over X and connect remotely? I’'d rather use a non-graphic tool, in a terminal shell.

Sorry these questions are so basic, Thanks for any help. --LT

I use the following tools for developing:

• Fedora Core 6 Linux

• Java JDK 1.5u9

• Ant 1.7.0

• Openfire 3.3.0 Sources (so my plugins are backwards compatible)

• KWrite (powerful Texteditor)

• Konqueror (Filebrowser)

• multiple console windows

• multiple browser windows/tabs for documentation.

• Psi 0.10 (Jabber-Client, has XML-Console)

• current Openfire installation for testing

In my opinion the best and simplest way for debugging is using Openfires build in Log mechanism and/or sending messages to yourself.

Coolcat

Message was edited by: Coolcat

Hi LT, welcome to Jive community.

• In order to develop plugins, do I need to build and install the OpenFire sources or can I use the binaries?

Openfire source contains a build file for plugins. To compile your plugin, the plugin source must be placed under the the appropriate directory of Openfire directory structure as mentioned somewhere in the Plugin Developer Guide. So, yes you need to download Openfire source.