Possible to push roster to client?

I am investigating an alternative to commercial solutions for instant messaging for a client. Jabber seems to be a simple but effective solution.

The only question I have is if I can push the list of users entered in the server (buddy list or roster or friends list or whatever you want to call it) to new users without the end users having to enter the whole list manually? This is key to convincing my client that an in house jabber server is the way to go - they already told me not to waste my time with jabber as a solution if this small thing cannot be accomplished.

Windows server environment, I am not a coder.

Thank you for your time, any help is appreciated.

David

Absolutely… right now I push our entire client roster to each member. Works wonderfully

Thank you, terminology was different from what I was expecting, but I found the answer. Now if my terminal server problem can be resolved, I should have a go ahead for the software.

Could you elaborate on how this was accomplished? I’'m guessing all you have to do is dump your roster into the jiveRoster and jiveRosterGroups tables in the database. Is that how it is done? If so, after users are entered into the roster are they pushed out automatically to clients? Also, if the db editing is the solution, what is the relationship between jiveRoster and jiveRosterGroups? Thanks.

Go to USERS/GROUPS

Create a GROUP and put the contacts you want in the roster

Enable Contact List Group Sharing

Click Share Group with Additional Users

and choose which users you want to push it out to.

or if you have a windows active directory domain (or any ldap for that matter) you can authenticate openfire against active directory and publish your active directory groups as buddy lists.

Can you provide specifics on how to do this. I have OF setup and integrated with my SBS2003 AD, however I need to automatically populate each Spark users contact list with all AD users

Thanks for any help.