Problem setting up OpenFire 4.7.1

I am trying to set up OpenFire 4.7.1 to be used with Spark as an internal messaging system for a client. I have gone through the setup from scratch three times now and gotten the same result every time. During the configuration process in the web-based wizard, it crashes after the Admin Email screen and just goes to the login page with no user having been created to be able to log in. This is being set up on an Ubuntu Server VM. The first couple of times I just blew away the whole machine and started over, but this is getting old and no matter what I’ve tried different, the exact same thing keeps happening. SO, how do I reset openfire so that I can go through the configuration again, and how do I stop this crash from happening? I am not an expert with linux by any stretch of the imagination, so please include commands and file paths where needed. Thank you!

Hi Ben,

Sorry to hear that. What exactly is crashing? Do the log files contain any clue?

I very occasionally have an issue where, after the Openfre setup has been completed, the browser is forwarded to a webpage that shows an error, instead of the login page. Opening the login page again (http://localhost:9090) after a few moments always ‘fixed’ it for me. That issue doesn’t happen enough for me to be able to reproduce and debug the issue. I suspect that the embedded webserver of Openfire sometimes takes a few moments before it is restarted.