Recommended Reading

Can anyone suggest a book that might be helpful to a newbie trying to get his head around the whole OpenFire IM project?

This is my first encounter with an open source app and have been spoiled by the documentation that comes with most applications.

I am not a techie but really would like to get a handle on how the OpenFire/Spark system works.

I did find one book… Openfire Administration: A practical step-by-step guide to rolling out a secure Instant Messaging service over your network by Mayank Sharma on Amazon. I was hoping to find an OpenFire For Dummies type of book, but haven’t seen anything like that.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Thanks!

Hi dickday,

I bought this book from Mayank Sharma. It is very good. I recommend it!

I bought the e-book, it is cheaper.

It isn’t to experts, I think this is very useful to beginners, almost like a “openfire for dummies”… Very didactic.

Bye

Hamilton

“… Não esqueça de fazer parte da nossa comunidade Brasil!”

Thank you, I will get it ordered.

I reviewed that book for the author/publisher. It is a good starter book but it is out of date. There are many changes as well omissions in this book.

Any suggested alternates?

None that I am aware of. It will get you going. It just will not cover all aspects of the current version of openfire. You can read my review in more detail here: http://www.innersanctumcomputing.net/reviews.php

I started looking for a book, and found the same book, published in 2008. Has anything been released since this thread? I was reading the documentation on the website, but it’s all about installation, and then development. I need something that covers administration.

Anyone?

Scott