ReferenceError using XIFF as a library to JavaScript under Adobe Air

Hello all!

I am completely new to Flash/Flex/Actionscript development (and to XMPP for that matter). Given that I’m so new to this all, I’ll try to post as much background and description as to what I’ve done so far so that if I’ve made any mistakes early on the more experienced among you might be able to help me in tracking things down faster.

First my problem description: I am developing an HTML/JS application under Adobe Air and I would like to have the ability for different instances of my application (on different machines) to communicate with each other via XMPP.

I’ve started by obtaining the XIFF source from the SVN trunk @ http://svn.igniterealtime.org/svn/repos/xiff/trunk/src

I then downloaded the Flex 3 SDK and created a flex-config xml file with a class entry for each Actionscript file and a path-element entry for airglobal.swc, framework.swc and rpc.swc. I was then able to compile XIFF using the command: acompc -load-config XIFF.xml -output XIFF.swc

As I was not able to figure out if Air could reference SWC files, I extracted the library.swf file out of XIFF.swc and renamed it to xiff.swf. I then took that xiff.swf file and added it to the folder lib/xiff/ in my Air application along with extracted SWF versions of framework and rpc. Then, in the HTML of my app, I have script tags for each of these:

<script type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="lib/XIFF/rpc.swf"></script>       
    <script type="application/x-shockwave-flash" src="lib/XIFF/xiff.swf"></script>

I then created a javascript file where I first created aliases as you find in AirAliases.js:

var xiff;
if (window.runtime) {
if (!xiff) xiff = {};
xiff.Anonymous = window.runtime.org.jivesoftware.xiff.auth.Anonymous;
xiff.External = window.runtime.org.jivesoftware.xiff.auth.External;

}