Security problems

I know we discussed this shortly on the groupchat, but I thought I’'d bring it up here for ideas/suggestions.

Currently, if Smack receives XML it can’'t parse (not well formed, etc), you get disconnected. Is there any way around this? Anyone that knows that this is true can disconnect you at any time using their XML console from almost any client.

Thanks,

Adam

Hmm, yes, I can see that can be a problem. I can’‘t think of a particularly nice solution to do this using Smack, but one thing you can do is to modify the source so that if the XML parser fails, it can return null (and then ignore null values from the XML parser). Just an idea. I’'m sure someone has a better one.

That seems to be serious issue.

Any application written with this API will be vulnerable to attacks. I am just beginning to learn the API.

Can we plug-in a different xml parser in API or something? (Just a thought)

It shouldn’‘t be an exploitable problem, because a good Jabber server won’'t pass along malformed XML.

This is not to say that “should” and “unexploitable” cover all the bases.

There’‘s only one case that I can think of that would be a problem, which is that Smack isn’'t likely doing namespace checking when looking for closing elements. If it was, than a server should make sure that everything else is well-formed.

-Matt

Well, the following packet kills smack - just as an example:

/code

Message was edited by:

synic

When you say “kill,” do mean drops the connection or causes the jvm to dump core?

My eyes must be getting blurry, but it doesn’'t look like the packet is ill formed.

Noah

It drops the connection. The part that causes the problem is the ****[/code] inside

Message was edited by:

synic

Message was edited by:

synic

its not exactly ill-formed, as in all of the openings and closings aren’‘t there but there shouldn’'t be any html inside of a body, it should be inside of an xhtml extension