Share contact lists across domains

I’m rather new to OpenFire, so I’m sorry if there is an easy way to do this.

I have one installation of OpenFire that’s tied into AD.

We have a subsidary company that we want to bring up on a different contenent. But we want to be able to share contact lists between the two installs. I have no problem publishing the groups within our domain, but I can’t think how we’d get a list of their groups/contacts.

thanks for any help you can lend!

If you have a single AD forrest with 2 sub domains (i.e. location1.domain.com and location2.domain.com) then point openfire to the top of the forrest (i.e. domain.com) and it will find both locations and all their users and groups. Use filters to remove unwanted stuff.

I’ve looked at it that way, but it isn’t exactly what we want. We want the AD subdomains (in Euroupe and Australia) to have there own server, for bandwidth reasons, that uses a seperate XMPP domain (mimicing their email domains).

The way it could work is to get SSO to work between OpenFire and our chosen client, Pandion, but I haven’t got that working. Plus, a single server in the US would still create more WAN traffic then we want.

In that case there is no way to do what you are asking. The servers do not pass data in the method you are asking.

I guess I’ll have to do what I can…

Thanks for the help!

I did this once by using the gateway plugin. Configure the XMPP gateway to point at the other server. Create an account on each domain for that gateway. Include this user in a shared group on each server. Have each user configure their XMPP gateway to use this account. Then the rosters could populate. They used to. You also have to allow multiple logins.

That’s a good idea…

Now I’m running into the problem of the XMPP gateway not working…

I can get the MSN working, but not XMPP.

My DNS is setup fine. s2s is working, but not the gateway…

Any ideas there?

You have been very helpful so far. Thanks!

–UPDATE–