Should i wait for MUC support?

Hi there,

I started my master thesis with Smack as the main library and enjoyed using it. The thesis is supposed to be the backbone for a Computer Supported Collaborative Work project.

Hence, I desperately need password protected Rooms and a better MUC integration.The Project is way to far along to change to MUSE or whatever.

Is there any timeframe for the MUC extension? Or is a small hint possible? I still have 3 month to do the job. Or has anybody some nice advice, how to create and join password protected rooms.

Thx in advance!

I know that Gato is working on full MUC compliance. I’'ll let him provide a time-frame for when it will be ready, though. Worst case, you should be able to add joining password-protected rooms with a few hours of work. You should be up for it as a masters in CS.

-Matt

Thx for the quick response!

As a Master Student I better skip my question for the JUD support and do this on my own.Please let me know about the timeframe for the MUC soon. Otherwise I will ask again and again…

Joachim,

Today I checked in an early version of MUC. This version allows you to create rooms, set room’'s configuration, join chat rooms (using password, specifying history), view occupants and send and receive messages. It should be available in the next daily build.

What is missing? The whole administrator functionalities, some owner functionalities, send and receive invitations & rejections, etc… My goal is to finish the whole MUC implementation in a month. Are you interested in some special functionality? I could accommodate my development sequence so I can meet your requirement.

Regards,

– Gato

Hello Gato,

This reply is more than I am used to and I am quite excited (at the moment). It seems I have to play around with the new MultiUserChat class for a while, but in deed there is a password and much more. Hence, I can go on with my project again.