Some feedback from a new-ish user

This is intended to be feedback for the developers to point out some opportunities to improve the user experience.

Background: I’ve been using Spark for about six months at work (new job). As an IM client it’s fine. I can chat and transfer files. Other users aren’t very demanding so if there are more advanced features (like conferences) I haven’t had a chance to use them. I have noticed a few items that definitely not helping my opinion of the software.

• Frequent updates coupled with an intrusive upgrade process.
    • Frequent updates are fine and it’s good that Spark handles the download rather than just dumping me on the web page like some software does. Unfortunately the upgrade is basically a fresh install and I have to close the existing instance and click next through the install. Spark started the upgrade process so it should close the original instance at the appropriate time without intervention. It’s also been installed before so it really just needs to keep track of the options from last time and just handle it. Maybe it could pop one dialog to verbiage asking if I want to run through the install again.
  • Spark handles a network disconnect very poorly.
    • I have Spark installed on a laptop and everytime I disconnect Spark pops up windows to tell me it disconnected and that it’s going to autologin in 10…9…8… etc. You know what? I don’t care. I know I disconnected and this dialog is really annoying. Here’s my suggestion. If you lose the network connection then show a disconnect icon and reconnect button on active windows. If there are no open windows then put a little red circle & crossbar (the international NO symbol) over the icon but no other indications. In the background, try to reconnect periodically and if it works, yay! If it doesn’t, wait x seconds and try again. Laptop are mobile so this noise over undocking it really unnecessary.