Subscribers are not getting event notification related to pubsub

I am new to XMPP and openfire, I trying to explore pubsub model of xmpp using openfire:

As a part of pubsub test I have followed following steps:

I have created connection with openfire using smack API.

Added Subscribers to node

Published items to node.

Event is getting fired.

But end user is not getting any notification(I am expecting notification either in the form of chat message of email).

Using openfire can I create node using admin console, subscribe users to it and pubish item to it?

Thanks,

Ujval

Your subscribers will need to listen specifically for the pubsub messages. You might want to try using this extension for doing your pubsub work.

There is no admin console for pubsub.

I am using the pubsub extension provided by smack. My code snippet is as follows:

// Setup event source

String nodeId =

PubSubManager creatorMgr =

“TestNode” + System.currentTimeMillis();

LeafNode creatorNode = getPubnode(creatorMgr, nodeId,

new PubSubManager(getConnection(0), getService());

BlockingQueue<ItemEventCoordinator<PayloadItem>> queue =

true, true);

new ArrayBlockingQueue<ItemEventCoordinator<PayloadItem>>(3);

// Setup event receiver

PubSubManager subMgr =

LeafNode subNode = (LeafNode)subMgr.getNode(nodeId);

ItemEventCoordinator<PayloadItem> sub1Handler =

new PubSubManager(getConnection(1), getService());

subNode.addItemEventListener(sub1Handler);

Subscription sub1 = subNode.subscribe(getConnection(1).getUser());

new ItemEventCoordinator<PayloadItem>(queue, “sub1”);

// Send event

String itemId = String.valueOf(System.currentTimeMillis());

String payloadString =

creatorNode.send(

“<book xmlns=“pubsub:test:book”>Sir Arthur Conan Doyle”;

new PayloadItem(itemId, new SimplePayload(“book”, “pubsub:test:book”, payloadString)));

ItemEventCoordinator<PayloadItem> coord = queue.take();