Transport for Custom Chat protocol?

Hi.

I’m trying to bridge a legacy in-house chat protocol into the OpenFire server. But I’m not sure if it the Spark client needs any special work/code to make it support the new transport if I were to add it as an additional transport in the Gateway plugin. Since I saw this changelog for Spark 2.5.8 that there’s added support for gadugadu, irc, and also the support is now built into Spark rather than being a plugin.

Any ideas ?

P.S : Or is there a more efficient way to bridge a legacy protocol into the XMPP network ? I only need to get IM and MUC to work. I have not seen the legacy chat protocol yet though.

Do you want to use Spark? I think other clients wount need additional modification, because they have Service Browsers unlike Spark.

wroot : The only other client i know that is kinda robust is the jabber client, which I’ve never used before.

I think I missed out the main point of my question which is to ask if it’s possible (without years of effort…) to code a transport for the gateway plugin and let it work for both “user to user” and most importantly Multi user chat (legacy chat and xmpp(openfire) clients).

Since I tried the MSN gateway, and I invited two MSN friends to conference. It does not work as both my friends did not recieve a invite or get any message. Is there another way to enable/use multi user chat ? I was using the Spark client, but I suppose the transport is translating conference concepts into MSN group chat concept…

Thanks.

john2 wrote:

wroot : The only other client i know that is kinda robust is the jabber client, which I’ve never used before.