Trouble with using SQL Express 2005

If someone can point me to what i am doing wrong, id appreciate it.

First databases and such are not my fortay, frankly i have little idea what i am doing, but i am a quick learner, and the documentation is just not helping me.

I have created a database, i have run the script to drop the tables and set up. I am running the set up and it never connects.

Here is what i am putting in, i just do not know if its right, i have tried a few different ways.

jdbc:jtds:sqlserver://[server]/[SQLEXPRESS]/[Databases]/[Openfire];appName=jive

i have changed nothing else other then to put in the user and its password, i am just using the SA account and have modified its password, and made Openfire its default database.

What am i doing wrong?

Hi,

I am new to Openfire myself but have managed to get it running with Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Express Edition SP2. First, please check whether you have MSSQL TCP/IP up and running (it’s off by default). Try at Command Prompt on the server running Openfire this command “telnet hostname_or_ip_addy_of_the_sql_server 1433” and see if the connection is refused or established. If the connection is refused that means you haven’t configured MSSQL TCP/IP yet. Please do so using SQL Server Configuraiton Manager. If the connection is established (you see a blank screen and not being returned to the prompt) then the problem is with your DB Connection URL. The one you are using seems to be incorrect. First, you don’t need those square brackets ( [ ] ) in the URL. Then it’s the server name and the instance name. I had this problem myself and it took a while to figure out. In my case I did not create a new DB under the instance SQLExpress but instead used the default one. The default database for user “sa” is the database called master and that’s where the script “C:\Program Files\Openfire\resources\database\openfire_sqlserver.sql” was executed to create the tables. With the help of the error.log file in “C:\Pro