What needs to be done to move this project forward (Spark)?

I use spark a lot and love it. I also love OpenFire. It seems that OpenFire gets all the love from the current devs (and for good reason, I don’t know of many other XMPP servers that are as good as OpenFire – Good work guys!).

What needs to be done to move Spark forward? It hasn’t had a new build/version since 2011… It’s still packaged with java6, and there are things that should get fixed with it.

I’m able to help out with the project (Java development), but don’t know where to start or who to talk to?

A little about me - I’m a Systems Admin by trade but also do a lot of Java development - I’m self taught and have been doing Java for about a year now. I’m currently taking courses that cover java as part of my degree. I’d love to get into an Open Source project and help out. I do work full time and go to school full time, so I can’t dedicate a ton of time to the project, but I’ll do what I can.

The company I work for runs OpenFire and Spark at the office and I ran an OpenFire server from home until some recent ISP issues… so I’m pretty familiar with the “user end” of these projects.

Thanks!

Howdy,

I’m more-or-less the community organizer and can get you setup with permissions to start developing Spark. The first step would be to elevate your privs in http://issues.igniterealtime.org and have you start triaging tickets. I can get you svn acess as well. Do you currently have access to Jira?

daryl

HI Jason,

the Spark project gets regular bug fixes from two teams. The client runs nicely on Java 7, but a J7 release is stopped by two things:

• We need the Bamboo build server to integrate the jre7. This might be trivial, but no one has time to investigate this.
  • We need to figure out how to build for the Mac plattform. Again, might be simple, but no one who ca do this.