powered by Jive Software

Why does restarting Openfire wipe out all custom groups and statuses?

We have recently rolled out Openfire to our firm and have been very happy so far. However I recently restarted the service as part of a configuration change. After the service restarted all users had lost their custom statuses and groups. These groups had survived client restarts and logouts for days, but were lost as soon as the server was bounced. Is this typical, or am I missing a setting somewhere to allow them to persist across server restarts?

Has this never happened before?