A problem about using Exodus as a client with WIldfire as a server!

hello,everyone!

I am a freshman at the field of Jabber,so i think my question seems simple for you.However,I hope I could get help from kind man.

I want to make a Jabber IM System with Exodus and Wildfire,but what shold I fill in the blank of resource when I want to land through Exodus(connecting to the Wildfire)?

And how should I configure the Wildfire according to the resource?

I have fill the server name in the item of server on the Login dialog,the server name i fill in is the domain name I got from the management webpage of Wildfire,is it OK?

Thanks a lot for your time!!

The Resource is somewhat arbitrary. It can be “Home” or “Office” or “Acme” or “Kadoodlehopper” – it really doesn’'t matter. Resources similar to “profiles.” A user can have different profiles depending on where they are logging in from so they will see different contacts.

Dear hrothgar ;

Thank you for you explaination,but i am still doubtful about that how should I configure the Wildfire according to the resource?

Could I fill the blank of resource with the resource name(e.g.home)which i like?

Hey LavenderSs,

To add to Cameron’‘s comment, there is no need to configure the server regarding client resources. A resource is some identifier for the user that is connecting. In XMPP a user may be logged from many places at the same time. And the way to identify each connection is by its resource. For instance, you can be logged into the server from your Home[/i] and from your Work[/i]. The server doesn’'t really care the text that you are using as your resource. Users MUST specify a resource while logging in. If the user tries to use the same resource from different clients at the same time then the server can be configured to kick the old connection (default behaviour) or to deny the new connection. Log into the admin console and click on “Resource Policy” to see the whole list of options.

Hope that helps.

Regards,