After update we have a big problems!

Hello,

I have been using your software for many years. Although I stopped on the client version 2_6_3, and I don’t remember the server, anyway, I decided to upgrade the client and server to the latest version.
This is where strange things started to happen … First of all, some users have a problem that they cannot write to other users, if they choose their name, a white window pops up and they neither receive messages from these people, nor can they send themselves . The only solution is then to kick the user out of the database and put him back.
The second problem is the problem when changing the password, it can not be done … We enter the password and select the item update, nothing happens, the only option is to change it through the admin panel.
I am asking for help because I would not like to change this program because we are all used to it.

I’m sorry to hear about those problems. What version of both Openfire and Spark are you using exactly?

Can you review the log files of both, and see if there are any relevant entries in them?

Yesterday I noticed a new version of the client, so I installed it right away and the problem stopped for now… But still, we can’t change the password from the client.
As for the logs, I looked through them and there was nothing special there. I am currently using “Openfire 4.6.0” and “Spark 2.9.3”.

Good to hear that you were able to fix most of the issues.

With the latest version of Spark and Openfire, I can change the password of a user using the ‘Preferences’ dialog without a problem.

Are you by any chance using an LDAP or AD (or otherwise ‘read-only’) user / authentication provider? In that case, passwords cannot be changed. That, however, has always been the case for these integrations.

All the time I only have default selected, but when I want to select LDAP both are selected and it cannot be saved.