Auto invite chat room's members when opened

Hi community,

I would like to know if Openfire has a feature or plugin to invite chat room’s members when the chat room is opened by it’s administrator.

Regards,

Chatree Srichart

No, there is no such option and i haven’t heard about such plugin.

I actually need this feature in my project. I am integrating Openfire into Apache OFBiz. Do you have some idea how to make it happen. I, however, can contribute this feature to the community.

Regards,

Chatree Srichart

I’m not a developer myself. I know that it is possible with Openfire to get list of members if you are a member of that room. So maybe it is possible to “hook” this API and combine it with the invitations sending. Can’t give you any pointers to the source code.

I’m now thinking what would be the best place to put such option in. Maybe on the room creation/editing page there could be a checkbox like “Send invitations to room members when administrator joins it”. But maybe one would need to do this when any member joins or maybe an owner joins. So maybe it could be a whole block called “Send invites to all room’s members when joins” and checkboxes with choices:

• Admin

• Owner

Of course it shouldn’t send an invite to the one who has already joined the room.

I will make a ticket for this. If you’ll have a patch for this feature, you can attach it here.

OF-478

I must say, I am not too happy with that option. I’d rather let the client decide, when and who to invite and do not make Openfire send invitations.

Reasons:

• I’ve studied XEP-0045 and there’s no mentioning that a server should send invitations in any case.

• I’ve implemented a client which sends an invitation and now have the problem, that the recipient receives two invitations. (because Openfire automatically sends invitations, when members are added to a members-only room).

It’s rather the other way round: