Broadcast Plugin - Disable messages to Admins?

Hi, we are playing with the OpenFire broadcast plugin

I am an admin on the system and I keep getting notified when any users make any broadcasts. We are Administrators on the chat server, but it doesn’t mean we should have permission to read everyone’s broadcasts. Sometimes the higher ups want to broadcast a message to the other “higher up” groups, and I am able to view all the messages.

Is there any way to disable the default option where administrators receive every broadcast notification as if they are part of that group?

Hopefully this is possible. Thanks

Wow, this really isn’t possible? I am bumping this because this should be an option and I have trouble believing it isnt.

Need more details. What client are you and your users using? How exactly do you send broadcasts from the client you use. Do you get notified about broadcasts in your client or in the Admin Console? Are you logged in the client with username admin? Or maybe you have added your username to openfire/conf/openfire.xml as administrative user?

Actually i can’t reproduce this with the Broadcast plugin or think of a way how this can happen so far.

Hi wroot,

Sorry about that.

We are all using Pidgin. We are also using the Broadcast Plugin by OpenFire. We know that Spark has a built in broadcast thing, but we are not using that.

User A sends a broadcast to the Finance group using Finance@broadcast.mycompany.com (I am NOT in the finance group, although I am an OpenFire administrator)

All users within the Finance group recieve the message. All other NON admin users who are not part of the group do NOT receive anything. Me and my Administrator colleague do in fact receieve every one as if the person directed the message specifically to us.(Not through admin console…but through Pidgin.)

It doesn’t matter if it’s finance@broadcast.mycompany.com or security@broadcast.mycompany.com, or any group. If it’s a broadcast, I will get it.