Cannot get past step one

I have never worked with Openfire or Spark before.

I am an experienced Linux SysAdmin.

I have installed Openfire and can connect via the admin portal via Firefox.

I am using LDAP.

I am running Spark on a seperate computer and cannot connect using the same username and password that allows me to login to the admin panel. I get “Login Error: Invalid username or password.”

I do not know how to troubleshoot this issue and I am ready and willing to RTFM, but I cannot find the FM to R it.

Can somebody please help me help myself?

Thank you.

What if you create a user ‘test’ with a password ‘test’ locally in Openfire (not via LDAP) and try to login?

I cannot. The Openfire Control Panel reports that you can’t add/remove users/groups because it is read-only aginst LDAP.

“Not allowed: the user account system is read-only.”

Users/Groups are only added via an LDAP client.

Ah, i’m not strong with LDAP. Maybe Todd Getz will jump to this thread. He’s LDAP God here

Ah! I See.

/Chaim begins to do a LDAP dance and sacrifices several CNs, DNs, and OUs to the LDAP Gods.

Sacrifices received…

If you can authenticate to the admin page from the server, your LDAP is functioning. This is a firewall issue most likely. I would check the linux firewalls to make sure all required ports are open for the chat server: 5222, 5223, 7777, 9090, 9091, 5269, etc. More or less depending on your needs.

I don’t have any firewall restrictions on the NIC on my LAN side.

Am I correct in assuming the Spark client uses 7070 or 7443?

Using Firefox from the client that is running Spark, I can hit port 7070 and 7443.

HTTP ERROR: 404

NOT_FOUND

RequestURI=/

Powered by Jetty://

Server Ports

Interface
Port
Type
Description
All addresses

Client to Server
The port used for clients to connect to the server using the old SSL method. The old SSL method is not an XMPP standard method and will be deprecated in the future. You can update the security settings for this port.