Chat Message persistence

Hi all,

I am a newbie to “OpenFire”. I setup a simple chat session between two users. I was trying to figure out as to where openfire was storing the chat messages. I looked in the underlying database. (ibm db2 v9.5 configured per openfire instructions). I could not find the message. I looked in the filesystem of the server and could not find these messages. I even ran extensive jdbc-trace sessions and did not find anything.

Are these messages encrypted and/or encoded ?. Can anyone shed some light on this ?.

Regards

/ramakrishna

Requires a monitoring plugin to archive the messages, and after installing some OPF console config updates to enable. The messages would be stored in the DB.

HTH

Hi HTH,

With apologies, but could you clarify what OPF stands for ?. (Does it stand for OpenFire ?)

Secondly, my question was geared towards “How does the out-of-the box server work” ?. Specifically for message persistence.

1. In some experiments that I did, I see that messages are persisting. This is after I disconnect my clients, re-boot my server etc. This suggests that these messages are being persisted someplace. I could not find them being stored in the DB nor filesystem nor on the client-side. Hence this mystery.

2. I realise from the spec (rfc3290) that after a tcp-session is establised between the clients an “xml-stream” goes back and forth. Further this is perhaps encoded in some form. (base64 ?). So, a human eye may not pick these up and we may need to use some decoding tool on the stream. But this is besides the point. The big mystery to me is where are these messages stored such that they re-appear after re-starting clients & servers.

/ramakrishna

By abbreviation “OPF”, I meant Openfire, similarly, “HTH” meant “Hope That Helps”.