Creating a Chat Room via Plugin

Hi everyone, I’m new to OpenFire developement and am attempting to create a chatroom via a plugin. After getting lost in the OpenFire API, I searched the Developer forums to no avail. Could someone please provide me with a code sample for how I would go about doing this? I would certainly appreciate it!

Also, I’d like to invite users to join the chatroom. Tips on that would be appreciated.

Thank you!

acm

Hi acm,

You’ll want to take a look at the MultiUserChatServiceImpl part of the Openfire javadocs. In order to create a room and send invitation you’d do something like:

XMPPServer server = XMPPServer.getInstance();
MUCRoom room = server.getMultiUserChatServer().getChatRoom("hill", server.createJID("jack", null));
room.sendInvitation(server.createJID("jill", null), null, room.getRole(), null);

Hope that helps,

Ryan

Thanks Ryan, I certainly appreciated your quick response. This method server.getMultiUserChatServer() must be new (or old) to the codebase, because th 3.6.0 source code has a MultiUserChatManager which manages multiple muc servers.

In any event, I was able to get something going. The only problem now is that my chat client (Spark) says “**null **is inviting you to join a group.” I don’t know if this is a problem with the client or if somehow I can set the invititing jid that I just can’t find. If I can’t figure this out, I think how it works as-is is acceptable for what I’m using it for.

The code I came up with is below:

public void createChatroom(String chatroomName, Collection<JID> invitees, String inviteReason) {
         try {
              XMPPServer server = XMPPServer.getInstance();               if(server.getMultiUserChatManager().getMultiUserChatServicesCount() == 0) {
                   server.getMultiUserChatManager().createMultiUserChatService("conference", null, false);
              }
              MultiUserChatService service = server.getMultiUserChatManager().getMultiUserChatServices().get(0);