Creating persistent groups from the client?

Hi all,

Not sure if this belongs here or in the dev forum, but here it goes.

Is it possible to create persistent groups from the client? I am new to Jabber/XMPP, but I have noticed that when the client creates a group, it is added only to the roster of that particular client, i.e. there is no notification to other JIDs that may have been added to the group (XML consoles in Exodus and Psi are great!). This is normal behaviour from what I have been reading, so I then looked at persistent groups, but found no documentation on whether these can be created and managed by the clients.

What I want, in the end, is to be able to create a group on a client, add users to it, and have this broadcast to said users, so that they can in turn create the same group in their own rosters. I cannot do this from the management console, it has to be done by the clients.

Regards,

Mike

Hi,

this sounds weird. Let’'s assume that you are A and have added B and C to your roster and added them to your group BC-GROUP. This does not mean that B knows C or that B (or C) wants to have AC (or AB) in a group named BC-GROUP.

That’'s one of the reasons why only the administrator may define such shared groups.

There is currently no ACL support but would it help to have a second administrator which can just define shared groups?

LG

Hi,

Thanks for your reply - I know it sounds weird, but I want to use the group management for other purposes, additionally to just chat. Even if we stick to chat alone, right now I can invite several people to a groupchat, and they don’‘t need to know each other (i.e. they are not in each other’‘s rosters). When they do join this group chat, presence information is also sent between them, even if they have not authorized or subscribed to each other’'s presence.