Custom MySQL db. User Authentication SHA1 and salt!

So I have a webapp with a large user database that I would like to use as my user database for Openfire.

For security reasons I store the user’s passwords as encrypted with a salt value.

username

crypted_password

salt

user

03a7fb408d1845875966bb417872fa920f2980e7

cb4f4f665bf68a8e06288dce0b789053621be21d

Authentication occurs by doing something like so:

sha1( submitted_password + salt) == crypted_password

is there an easy way to integrate this scheme into the openfire custom database impelemenation?

Thanks!

1 Like

I should also mention is there somewhere I can track down the way the encrypted password is created?

(I’m pretty new to openfire BTW)

Hi Mike,

one needs to patch or update the jdbc auth provider to do this. It should not be to hard to add there the option for a “salt” property. There is JiveSoftware and there are some freelancer coders (or maybe even you) who can do this.

I don’t think that the new code will be included in Openfire as such an authentication is very rare and thus hard to test and maintain.

LG

Yep after bouncing around a bit I figured as much, I’ve already mucked around in the code a bit and I think I’m close.

I wouldn’t say this is too far of an edge case though, using hashes with individual salt values is pretty much state of the art for web applications.

http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/archives/000953.html

Did you ever get a solution for this? I’m dealing with the same thing trying to integrate a rails app I have with openfire.

I had the same problem trying to get this working with my Rails app. I am using the restful authentication plugin, and it turns out they hash the password like so: “saltpassword–”. I hacked the JDBCAuthProvider class to have another PasswordType called sha1salt that would work for restful authentication.

In my openfire.xml file I have:

<jdbcAuthProvider>