"Database Setting" errors when installing Openfire on MySQL

I am new to Openfire and would greatly appreciate installation help. I am installing MySQL onto a MySQL run database from a Windows machine. Each time that I try to connect to the server I receive an error along the lines of this:

CommunicationsException: Communications link failure due to underlying exception:

I have already done the following:

• prepared the server by making a database and formatting it properly

• windows firewall automatically blocked openfire, but I told the firewall to allow Openfire to pass any data to the server

• i created a seperate user with access to the openfire db

I understand that there may be an issue with the 127.0.0.1 connection settings, but if I enter 127.0.0.1 in where the [host-name] goes, the computer can’t even find the site, and for good reason. Any ideas?

Oh, this may help:

2009.01.15 17:25:50 [org.jivesoftware.util.log.util.CommonsLogFactory$1.error(CommonsLogFactory.jav a:92)
] Prototype
com.mysql.jdbc.CommunicationsException: Communications link failure due to underlying exception:

** BEGIN NESTED EXCEPTION **

java.net.ConnectException

STACKTRACE:

java.net.ConnectException: Connection timed out: connect
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Native Method)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.doConnect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(Unknown Source)
at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.(Unknown Source)
at java.net.Socket.(Unknown Source)
at com.mysql.jdbc.StandardSocketFactory.connect(StandardSocketFactory.java:256)
at com.mysql.jdbc.MysqlIO.(MysqlIO.java:271)
at com.mysql.jdbc.Connection.createNewIO(Connection.java:2771)
at com.mysql.jdbc.Connection.(Connection.java:1555)
at com.mysql.jdbc.NonRegisteringDriver.connect(NonRegisteringDriver.java:285)