Disabling instant messaging

I’‘m doing this for work. We want to use Wildfire as our server so that we can have chatroom capabilites. But we don’'t want the employees to be able to privately instant message each other. I was told by my co-worker, that in order to disable instant messaging I would have to create a plugin for it. Is that the only way?

I am completely new to writing plugins. I was looking through the source code trying to find something I could do to disable private instant messaging. I couldn’'t find anything. I also looked through the Wildfire API and no luck there either.

How is private instant messaging treated by Wildfire? Is it treated as a chatroom with only two people?

I’'m thinking I could block all messages going from user to user.

Hi Jigar,

Your co-work is correct, out-of-the-box Wildfire does not provide a way to disable person-to-person/private messaging; however, writing a plugin to disable such messaging is pretty straight forward.

If you look at XEP-0045 (which defines how multi-user chat works) you’‘ll notice that all groupchat messages must, in part send a message of type “groupchat”. So, what we want to do with our plugin is create a PacketInterceptor that will inspect each message packet, check the packet’'s type and if its not of type “groupchat” reject it. Easy enough, right? Below is the code that will do that all for us:

import java.io.File; import org.jivesoftware.wildfire.Session;
import org.jivesoftware.wildfire.container.Plugin;
import org.jivesoftware.wildfire.container.PluginManager;
import org.jivesoftware.wildfire.interceptor.InterceptorManager;
import org.jivesoftware.wildfire.interceptor.PacketInterceptor;
import org.jivesoftware.wildfire.interceptor.PacketRejectedException;
import org.xmpp.packet.Message;
import org.xmpp.packet.Packet; public class PrivateMessageDisablerPlugin implements Plugin {