General Openfire Questions

I’m looking at implementing a Server 2003 network at my church. Looking at a domain controller, Active Directory, and primarily using it as a file share machine. The server is pretty much spare parts right now, using a Dell Optiplex G110 as a base. Pentium III (I haven’t booted it in a while, so I’m not sure the speed) and 512 MB RAM. The network will only be about 5~10 computers. One is a Mac that will be set up to be able to authenticate against AD. Currently I’m an MCSE student so this was a good opportunity for me to get hands-on practice, but because of that it is also limiting me to the software I have available, and will need to know how to use for my certification exams. While I have Server 2003, we do not have access to Exchange Server 2003, or Live Communications. So, I’ve been looking for other options. I hope I’ve found one here. Unfortunately, I currently do not have the time to look through all the documentation, though I’ve seen a lot that looks very promising.

1. Considering my current restrictions, would Openfire be a good alternative to Live Communications for instant messaging and chat?

2. As this seems to essentially use/be Jabber, has anyone had experience with a Mac (OS X, fully updated) and iChat connecting to Openfire; hopefully on a Windows server? If so, what are potential complications I might be looking at?

3. Are there any recommendations, assuming the answer to 1 & 2 aren’t ‘not possible’ or something, in setting up this server that hasn’t been covered in some of the basic tutorials and guides? Really just interested in personal experiences on this one.

4. Would using this with VPN be recommended? It’s not necessary, but I think it would be a nice perk.