Help building & deploying a plugin

Hi all

I’m quite new to developing plugins for Openfire. I’ve been reading all documents and searched in the forums, and up to now I’ve managed to set up openfire from SVN, and start the server. I can also deploy the existing plugins from the checked-out version of openfire, with the ant-build script that builds all the plugins existent in the openfire directory (ant-build “plugins”).

So the problem comes here, I want to modify one of the plugins to add some more features, so I downloaded de sources and created a project in eclipse from those sources, and the only step I haven’t found is how to run the plugin, or how to use the ant-build script called “plugin” to build the plugin and create de jar file. I know this may be kind of obvious for some of you, but I’m really haven’t found any related thread or article.

Thanks in advance.

Hi Lizaro,

I’m not a Java programmer but managet to modify UserService Plugin. After You successfully compile plugin just put jar file in plugins directory of OpenFire server.

You’re right, but I thought there was a straight way of runnning and compiling the plugin through the ant build script, that would be quite more productive than creating jar file, on and on, and copying it to the plugins directory.

I’m quite confident that it’s possible but I have used ant-building too much, maybe if someone could write down ant-build command used to build the plugin, I think I could manage to run it on eclipse.

NOTE: As far as I know the ant-build script is supposed to create the jar file (from the directory structure specified) that is needed to add the plugin to the Openfire Server. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

Thanks.

I suppose You are right, I just do not have deep knowledge of how OpenFire works.But if you plugin hook some services inside OpenFire – OpenFire must be notified somehow about it - as example during install phase ?!