How do anonymous logins work?

I am new to the whole XMPP world, and am trying to get up to speed. I noticed that Jive Messenger supports some type of ‘‘anonymous logins.’’ How exactly does this work? I have been unable to find much information on this, and I realize that this is outside of the XMPP spec. If I were to build some type of ‘‘customer service’’ type application, this type of feature would be extremely valuable.

Daniel,

The anonymous login that Messenger currently supports can be used by sending a blank authentication packet. If you’'re using the Smack library to write your client, there is a loginAnonymously method you can use.

The XML is:

And then your JID will be something like:

example.com/5daf69eb

(resource is a unique identifier). If you have any problems making this work, let us know.

Also, I apologize in advance for the plug, but if you’‘re looking at using XMPP for customer service than I’'d recommend looking at our commercial XMPP product, Jive Live Assistant – http://www.jivesoftware.com/products/liveassistant/

Regards,

Matt

Awesome, exactly the information I was looking for. Currently I have no plans for building a ‘‘customer service’’ application, it was really just the quickest example I could come up with for the use case But I did look into your project and it looks quite nice, it will definitly be bookmarked incase the need ever arises.

Thanks again.

• Daniel

Daniel,

Sounds good. BTW, I should also mention that the “real” way to do anonymous logins is through SASL. The older Jabber protocol used a different authentication mechanism, which is what is supported by Jive Messenger (documented as JEP-0078). We plan to support SASL, including anonymous SASL in an upcoming release.

Regards,

Matt

Hi,

I try to use anonymous login together with XIFF, but is seems JiveMessenger get stuck once it received the as indicated in the previous message. Any idea?

here is the log from Flash traces: